Floors and more

I did get to the flooring store yesterday and after spending 2 hours going through and choosing samples to bring home, got what I thought could work for us.  Turns out it will.  Chose a dark slate tile with not a lot of “action” in it, but some subtle color variations of lighter grays and some coppery streaks.  It will go in entry hall, entry powder, kitchen, dining (with a little fanciful tile rug detailing), gallery hall, and into laundry. It is American Tile & Stone, W-Slate in Dark (they only have Light, Dark, or Indigo).

The carpet turned out to be serendipitous as the store owner showed me a couple carpets that have come up with special pricing and were in the warehouse.  He brought samples to me and I liked them both.  In the store I was leaning to the more solid gray, but bringing them both home, the abundant light we have in our home really played up the other carpets colors better and it seemed to glow.  The photo I took shows it more red than it really is.   It is a tweedy blend of coppers, sage greens, grays, blues, golds and creams that makes it come alive and blend in with all the tile and wall colors I am working with.  It will go in the living, up the stairs to my husband’s office, and down the guest hall into guest bedroom, and in the sitting/family room into the master bedroom.  The bedrooms will have a Sherwin Williams Jersey Cream wall color.  The living spaces, kitchen, dining and halls will be Sherwin Williams Buckram Binding.

The guest bath floor tile and master bath floor tile will both be the same Interceramic Tessuto, a textured linen look in color Ecru Gray, a light silvery gray.  It will look great with the chrome fixtures in the master and the satin nickel fixture in the guest bath.  The walls in the baths have not been finalized yet.  I imagine they will just be painted.  Possibly the same Jersey Cream in the master bath as the bedroom, and a Sherwin- Williams Sensitive Tint (a very soft pale lavender) in the guest.  It’s what I have now in the same spaces and love the softness of both colors.

It’s a good thing I stopped procrastinating on the floors because I got a shock when I went by the house to check on it and found the cabinets had all been delivered and installed.  They all turned out great.

We are down to just a few final decisions and we just need to put our orders in.  The carpet and floor tiles with grout colors will be ordered next week.    The granites we have chosen and just need to put deposits on next week to hold them (we visited that place twice before deciding), and ceiling fans need to be decided on and ordered.

The cabinets will be stained, and a few painted (in laundry and guest bath), but the finishes we have chosen already.  I am glad I know what wall paint colors I want because that is another decision that can be very hard to pin down.  What we have now I like a lot ( I personally painted this entire house inside, every single wall,  before we moved into it eight years ago) and the same colors will work just as well in the new house.

I have ordered all the door hardware and it should be here next week.  The appliances have been ordered and are waiting to be installed.   We bought all the bath fixtures a couple months ago and they are waiting in our spare bedroom.   It will be fast and furious the next few weeks finishing it all up.

Leave a Reply

