Why, yes, I’ll have more rain, please

Cannot catch a break.  As much as we need the rain, and love the rain, I need to mow the yard.  The landscapers are six weeks behind on their projects and I can’t get a new yard put in until the end of May.  So, until then, mowing is becoming a challenge.  The pasture grasses absolutely grow a foot a day it seems.  And I can’t get out to mow until it dries out a bit between rain storms.  I did catch a couple of days of “dry” last week and got the front 2 acres mowed before more rain came through.  We have had more since then.  I spent half my time washing off the mower deck of the Husqvarna to unclog all the grass and mud stuck underneath so I could continue to mow.

In the meantime, I am trying to get some more projects started and finished around the house. Today, I went to Hobby Lobby and got a wall stencil to do a bit of accent on the powder room wall.  It needs something in there a bit dramatic, so I will take before and after photos.  I hope it turns out the way I envision it.

I am finishing up painting some tables so I can resell them.  I tried decoupaging one tabletop, but am not happy with how it turned out.  It wrinkled and was not an easy project and I am reading up on what caused that to happen.  I may have used too much Mod Podge.  I was also reading where some don’t like that product and recommended another brand.  I will give it another go.

I did install some Rev A Shelf drawers in the master bath buffet-turned-vanity.  It was an easy install and is definitely  better looking than the little plastic tubs I had used for storage. The RevAShelf brand is a little pricey, but the quality is definitely there, and the chrome looks so nice.

I’ve followed the blog-land’s One Room Challenge. It has a six-week deadline, and fun to see what everyone is up to in their makeovers.

It’s clouding up and looks like more rain is heading this way. No mowing for a few more days.

One thought on “Why, yes, I’ll have more rain, please

  1. Maybe you need a few cows! They’ll appreciate the rain. I like the stencil idea. I’ve seen some lovely stencilled tiles lately – I may have a go later if my laundry seems too dull. I’m off to check out the One Room Challenge now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

