Changing seasons

I always think, when Spring shows up, that I wish never to see Winter again (not that it’s that bad here in Texas, just inconvenient sometimes with ice), but then after the heat of July the air starts to cool just a little, a few rainstorms pop up and I’m ready to feel the cool Fall air.

It has started here, just subtly, but here we are again with a new season to experience.  I have to have my Seasons and I’m not sure I could live anywhere that didn’t have changing seasons.  I do love that here in Texas it is not as drastic as when I lived in Kansas, but it’s enough of a change to enjoy.

DSC_0046

A tight squeeze for six babies to grow up

Learning to fly is hardwork

Learning to fly is hard work

The swallows raised two broods on the laundry room back porch and are still here flying the skies in morning and evening, the hummingbirds zinged around the feeders all summer and cooler weather has brought more to the area before they fly off for the winter, and this week brought some stormy weather and much needed rain.  We were drowned in water this Spring with an overabundance that did fill up all of our lakes that had been decimated by the drought.  I never ever thought I would see those full, and in fact they were overflowing, creating damage in some areas.

I have a few blogs that I enjoy following, and Cote de Texas is one I like to drop in on.  She also has her favorite blogs that I like to look in on and see various prettiness in scenery, architecture, and design.  http://cotedetexas.blogspot.com/

My yard is still a work in progress. I am awaiting my installation of grass and sprinkler system around the house. It was delayed to Sept. because of all the rain in Feb and March when it was supposed to go in, then it got too hot when all the rain stopped in May/June and I wanted to wait for cooler weather.

I also have entry fence and gate to install after the grass and all the activity is done. I would not need a gate, except the neighbor’s horses show up for a free meal in the pasture and just destroy the yard to get to it (big draft horses with huge feet).  It was not an expense I had wanted, but no choice. I am leaning towards the Priefert Ponderosa fencing and I may upgrade to a nice curved top gate and an opener, and also an overhead.  I like the rugged posts and the heavy rails that have color choices.

http://www.acreagefences.com/products/priefert-ponderosa-fence/

So I welcome Fall, once again,  and I can work outside and enjoy nature all around.

2 thoughts on “Changing seasons

  1. I was just thinking of you yesterday! Glad to hear little snippets of life in the country in Texas. You always seem to have some animal guests of some sort. I don’t think you’d enjoy my current city with only 4 degrees (celsius) variation throughout the year. We are just a couple of degrees south of the equator. Personally, I don’t mind it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

