Snow Day

Our first snow is happening right now. It started lightly blowing flurries around noon and has since gotten heavier and is collecting on the ground.

I got the Christmas decor put away a few days ago and I am waiting for the predicted warmer weather in a few days. For now, it’s hibernate and stay warm, with a very nice homemade vegetable soup cooking in the crockpot.

I also got myself a Christmas present when I adopted a rescue dog from the local shelter. I wasn’t sure if, after our 15 1/2 year old dog died, I could find one suitable for me. But after looking on Petfinder, a real cutie showed up on their site, and not far from me. So I went over and looked at two dogs I was considering. I was allowed a good amount of time to get to know them both individually, but Violet won me over. She is a (guessing) Beagle/Pointer mix and about a year old, and at the shelter for about a month. At first I thought she could be a Jack Russell/Beagle mix, but  her mannerisms when we walk on the property would tell me she is a pointer mix (she does point when she is pausing to check something out or listen to sounds). It really doesn’t matter, but she is the right size for me at about 24 lbs. (I can easily lift  her in and out of the SUV into her kennel when she needs to go to the vet or boarding).

We walk all over my property, 26 acres, and that’s good for her and me, both.  I try to do that twice a day when it’s nice and we both miss it when it’s not nice, like today. I still try to at least get her for a quick walk around the house, which is about 4 acres, so that’s something.  She loves being outside.

If you need to adopt or just see what they have (all kinds of animals, not just dogs and cats), Petfinder is a great online tool.  You can filter down to get a probable match that will work for you. My fee paid for her spaying, microchipping, all her vet visits for deworm/rabies/parvo vaccines, and I got a free six months of heartworm/parasite tabs.  Needless to say, I have spoiled her with attention and Violet is very gladly accepting it all.

https://www.petfinder.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

